Reviews

Reviews

Ohana retreat is great if youre looking for a low key home stay style of living. Its a quiet property surrounded by cafes and restaurants within walking distance, very clean and well looked after.

Reviews
Expedia u.
15/10/19

ReviewsCan’t find Better I travelled often but never really took the time to write any reviews (even though I find them super helpful)
But my stay at Ohana was that amazing that I owed the hosts 5 minutes to thank them for their hospitality and making sure we had the best time!

I can not recommend Ohana Retreat enough! It has been the highlight of our trip to Bali .

The room was comfortable ( i have back issues and the bed was very comfy) the view from the roof top is perfect for the best sunset photography! The pool was nice, and I enjoyed a massage from the comfort of the hotel.

Its so close to everywhere you want to be but far enough away to relax and unwind.

We tried many coffees and restaurant around the retreat and loved them all! All of Neil & Shelly’s recommendations were especially on point.
-cactus coffee (amazing strong coffee with fresh almond milk)
-monsieur spoon Best croissants and pastries (I’m French and picky lol)
- Santorini authentic greek food
-Wasabi good sushi
-Bottega amazing fresh Italian food.

I also took a Cooking class with Shelly and learned beautiful Bali cuisine while having fun! I was lucky enough to joined her to the local market to get what i needed to reproduce it back home. My husband didn’t take the class but for a lil extra enjoy the amazing meal we cooked.

My favorite thing was also spending time with lil twinkie the mini pomenarian .

We will be back when we come back to Bali! Comfortable, best location, clean, friendly, helpful, safe, best view !

Reviews
Fany C.
10/09/19

Just perfect! Everything is brand new and very clean, you can walk to the beach or just relax by the pool. The smart tv with Netflix is definitely a plus. The hosts are very kind and always willing to give you information. Wish I can come back again soon.

Reviews
mcmarrero x.
23/07/19

To keep it short: Approved and recommendable!
The pictures are accurate, the retreat is new! Owners (Neil & his wife) and the staff are just adorable.

What else? It‘s quiet. This is very nice as you have a short distance to the party / entertainment zone but when you want to sleep you can escape the Canggu Music madness.

Note: This review is based on European standards - so you’ll be satisfied. For US and Australian travelers - leave your adapters at home, they made international outlets in the walls for you!

(June 2019)

Reviews
Tom L.
07/06/19

ReviewsLoved every second here! We loved our stay at the Ohana Retreat. Neill and Shelly are amazing hosts and couldn’t have been more welcoming. The retreat has a large pool with nice sunbeds. The bed and pillows are just amazing, top quality and the best nightrest I had of the whole holiday. The retreat is in a quiet area of Canggu near the rice paddies, you can take a nice walk here. It is an easy walk to the beach and the centre of canggu. They also arranged discount for some of the neighboring restaurants. We would love to stay again!

Reviews
roost467
01/10/19

What a wonderful stay we had at Ohana Retreat!! The location is perfect, the staff is so friendly and kind (with the best cleaning we have ever experienced,) and the space was quiet and beautiful!! We loved that the curtains kept the room very dark while sleeping but that there was still so much nature light when they were opened. The space was well thought out and was simply perfect for our family of 4!! It really is such a community feel at this place, we have no doubts that we will be back!!! If you’re on the fence at all, look no more, this is the place to stay in beautiful Perenenan/ Canggu area!! Thanks Neil and Shelly for a lovely stay, see you soon!!

Reviews
Joy
06/08/19

Amazing host! Great location, super clean, outstanding host and very comfortable. Nothing.

Reviews
Arnoul
17/11/19

The villa is in a very quiet location but with a scooter you are very fast in the center of Canggu.
We were warmly welcomed by Shelly and her husband with a welcome drink.
The villa is very modern with nice details. The outdoor area with a large pool is perfect for relaxing. Sunset is best enjoyed on the rooftop from where you can also see the sea.
We have enjoyed our stay.

Reviews
Matthias
30/06/19

ReviewsHome away from home What a delightful place this is, away from the crazy party life in Canggu (but still in a very convenient location). Neil and Shelley have created such a homey environment here. A stellar Balinese massage therapist is on-site, as well as the BEST coconut (vegan) ice cream you’ll ever taste in your life!!

Reviews
Stanley828
30/10/19

Exceptional We loved our stay at the Ohana Retreat. Neill and Shelly are amazing hosts and couldn’t have been more welcoming. The retreat has a large pool with nice sunbeds. The bed and pillows are just amazing, top quality and the best nightrest I had of the whole holiday. The retreat is in a quiet area of Canggu near the rice paddies, you can take a nice walk here. It is an easy walk to the beach and the centre of canggu. We would love to stay again!

Reviews
Roos
02/10/19

ReviewsAwesome holiday retreat in Canggu! The Ohana Retreat Bali is an absolutly lovely place. The rooms are stylish overlooking the nice pool area and garden or the sourrounding landscape. 5star beds with incredible soft pillows. Well secluded from the street Ohana is quiet and peacefull. Nearby restaurants serving delicious food from Indonisian to hip and tasty bowls (we enjoyed our fresh crossaints from the french bakery Monsineur Spoon). The Echo beach is only a couple of minutes away by foot. From the cozy rooftop the views are outstanding. A perfect place for a sundowner. Neill and Shelly were lovely hosts. They are very gentle persons and created the whole retreat with a special sense of style and hospitality. Our two daughters loved not only Twinky the little dog but also the warm and welcoming way from the whole Ohana team. We will definitely come back when we are on Bali next time.

Reviews
roundthe
03/08/19

It was a great time at the Ohana Hotel. The personell were very helpful und friendly. You could relax there very well. Restaurants are nearby and the City Center is not far. It was perfect and we had a good time.

Reviews
Silan
05/08/19

It was a great time at the Ohana Hotel.
The personell were very helpful und friendly.
You could relax there very well.
Restaurants are nearby and the City Center is not far.
It was perfect and we had a good time.
Thank you so much.

Reviews
Silan A.
05/08/19

Highly recommended Stayed there with our 2 yo daughter. Well located in Pererenan, less than 10min walk from the beach (good surf spot btw) and is near many good cafes and restaurants. The place is modern, well designed and very clean. It's also very quiet and perfect to chill and relax. The owners were fantastic, and gave us good tips about what to do and where to go in the area.

Reviews
Nicolas
16/08/19

Das Ohana Retreat Bali ist eine wirklich herausragende Wohlfühloase in Canggu. Am Ende einer Privatstrasse gelegen ist die Unterkunft ruhig und dennoch zentral gelegen. Neill und Shelly, die beiden Besitzer, haben mit viel Liebe zum Detail das Retreat gestaltet. Die 4 Bettzimmer gehen über 2 Etagen und haben riesige Fensterfronten durch die man den Pool, den Garten und die umliegende Landschaft sehen kann. Die Betten sind super bequem wie in einem Spitzenhotel. Das Team des Ohana Retreat schafft eine sehr persönliche Atmosphere. Wir haben uns als Familie hier herzlich willkommen gefühlt. Neill und Shelly bieten Kochkurse an, helfen bei der An- und Abreise und haben tolle Tipps für Restaurants in der Umgebung. Ihr kleiner Hund Twinky ist super kinderlieb, unsere Mädels fanden ihn toll. Gleich um die Ecke liegt ein Reiterhof bei dem man Ausritte auf dem Strand machen kann. Wir können das Ohana Retreat sehr empfehlen und kommen bestimmt wieder.

Reviews
Expedia u.
04/08/19

Exceptional Hey there,
we were the very first guests after the soft opening. So this place is new, clean and a true retreat.
Pool is well designed and gives you a chill feeling. I added photos so you don’t just have the professional shots.
Designed with personal touch. So do i recommend to stay here? Yes! I‘m from Germany, I’m used to European standards so you can take this rating at face value. You get a key and keycard (for the gate). So you need to carry two things, but they said they’ll work on that. AND I needed to put something here 😉

Reviews
Tom
07/06/19

The sound of a waterfall, a gentle breeze, and as I write this I'm enjoying the relaxing afterglow of peace following an absolutely wonderful massage arranged for me by our hosts. Ohana Retreat Bali is a true value in this area, a new entry amongst many other choices. As a first time visitor to Bali, I would highly and unreservedly recommend it to others ... I would happily return and stay here again.

Reviews
Michael
10/07/19

ReviewsA great choice for a family gathering As older and first-time travellers to Bali, we have been so impressed with the accomodations here at Ohana Retreat Bali as well as the pleasant and generous hospitality of our hosts, Neill and Shelly. Modern, new construction, so clean and comfortable. Took advantage of the on-site massage room, eating at the variety of local restaurants within walking distance, and enjoying the nearby beach. The 360 view from the rooftop terrace is amazing, a great place to see all the kites flying in the surrounding area. Thumbs up!

Reviews
MikeInTacoma
14/07/19

As older and first-time travellers to Bali, we have been so impressed with the accomodations here at Ohana Retreat Bali as well as the pleasant and generous hospitality of our hosts, Neill and Shelly. Modern, new construction, clean and comfortable. Took advantage of the on-site massage room, eating at the wide variety of local restaurants available within walking distance of Ohana, and enjoying the nearby beach. The 360-degree view from the rooftop terrace is amazing and a great place to see all the kites flying in the surrounding area. Definite Thumbs Up!! 👍👍

Reviews
Michael L.
14/07/19

Ohana Retreat Bali is a very beautiful place with a unique and beautiful design. The owner is also very friendly and kind😍😍❤

Reviews
Jane R.
02/09/19

ReviewsThe most amazing stay I had the best time at Ohana Retreat and the hosts are truly wonderful. Comfortable and immaculate accommodation, perfect combo between luxury home stay and boutique hotel. I was even lucky enough to be invited to a private family bbq held by the owners... they cooked the best Indonesian food I have ever tried, and I couldn’t believe the kindness. It’s a real home away from home. I wouldn’t go anywhere else in Canggu area!!!

Reviews
Fedechikka
14/09/19

ReviewsFantastic visit The only negative thing about our stay here was the fact that it was too short.

The hotel is newly opened with neat solutions to optimize space.
High ceilings, two toilets per room, super comfy beds and linens.

Neil and Shelly where wonderful hosts helping us out with whatever we needed.

Their dog Twinky was the icing on the cake. Kind, cute and happy to see you without barking.

Rooftop bar with a great view of the sunset as well.

Neighborhood was nice and seemed up and coming with a nice vibe.

When we revisit Bali, we will most definitely stay here.

Reviews
Patrick N.
26/08/19

I had the best stay at Ohana Retreat. The hosts are truly wonderful and the property is immaculate and very comfortable. It really feels like being at home away from home! All the benefits of a luxury home stay and all the perks of a boutique hotel. I will definitely come back here, wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Canggu area!

Reviews
Federica B.
15/09/19

Great place to relax and rejuvenate. Best home base in Canggu. I loved staying at Ohana ~ the best sleep I’ve had in a long time. The bed and pillows are of premium quality and I could hear the birds chirping in the morning. It’s a well taken care of property and the owners are accommodating and welcoming.
I stayed in 2 other places nearby until I found Ohana. It was the home base I was looking for while in Bali. I ended up extending my stay as I did not want to leave. Thank you for such attention to detail and the warm welcome. I’m happy as is

Reviews
Jennifer
15/09/19

What's not to love? Gorgeous new modern design with all the amenities: pool, rooftop bar and rooms with ocean views, walk to the beach and massage and cooking classes onsite. Best of all, friendly hosts to give us the local insider tips on Bali!

Reviews
Sharon A.
09/07/19